Pitching, losing and learning from it

2 03 2009

I just lost a pitch.

Phew.

The more I say it, the more acceptable it is. Because of course I did not walk into the pitch with a plan for “when I lose”.

I just lost a live pitch in front of around 200 people at a conference of people who work in charities. I pitched a poster idea for a made-up charity and so did some dudes from The Works. On paper a terrible loss of face. But of course, already the main feeling I have is… “I had to try”.

The thing about pitching is that you have to be prepared to give up all your power. You transfer all your power onto your audience. They determine whether you succeed or fail. The temptation to avoid pitching is therefore huge.

Furthermore pitching isn’t just about whether an idea is good or not. You have to work hard to get the audience to pass the power back. You have to convince the audience that they should yield to your idea and that by going for you and your idea – they will feel good.

In my case I failed to persuade the audience that they should feel good saying “yes” to me. Well except those who knew me already. Since I broke a few of my own fundamental rules… I figure I should share them here.

1. Never let your idea be shown until you have set the scene. It is important to get heads nodding before you get to the idea.

2. Read out your work. Do not assume that the audience have seen everything. Even if the point of your pitch is to produce a poster. Yes it is true that in real life no one will be there to stop cars and explain what they should be reading. But in the pitch you are there. And you should read it. Every word.

3. Don’t fail to seek feedback. It is important that before the audience are asked to decide which idea they like… they actually talk about your idea. This provides an opportunity to further discuss the merit of your work further.

There we go.

Better skill next time!


Actions

Information

2 responses

3 03 2009
Misdana

I loved your poster – it was way better! You still got over 23% ! It is just because a semi famous person said he prefered the other one so everyone tends to agree with that! Also you are right you didn’t get to explain it either.

29 03 2009
RaiulBaztepo

Hello!
Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
See you!
Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a comment